Authorised fishing charter boats taking part in the TunaChart catch-tag-release fishery have had bluefin tuna all along Ireland’s Atlantic coast. Boats in Cork, Clare, Sligo and Donegal all reported success in the last week.

Sligo tunaCongratulations go especially to those boats who got their first fish of the the season. Sarah Marie in Sligo got their season off to a great start earlier this week with 3 bluefins to around 540lb.

Tony Tate’s Tigger in Cork endured some hardship this week when the center rigger was absolutely smashed to pieces by a giant bluefin. The tuna remained hooked and gave the team one hell of a fight. Eventually they had him at the back to the boat only for the hook came flying from his mouth 6 feet from putting the lip gaff in him. This was just one of  3 bluefins lost over 4 days. They finally hooked, fought, tagged and released a 600lb giant yesterday.

Other boats that tagged fish in the last week include the Rebecca C in Ballycotton, Clare Dragoon in Carrigaholt, Kiwi Girl in Mullaghmore and Deep Blue in Killybegs.

Finally good luck to John Fleming’s Brazen Hussy II, who is now ready to take blue fin bookings as part of the TunaChart programme

Authorised Vessels

Anglers wishing to engage in this fishery must only do so on a sea angling vessel specifically authorised to participate in the programme.  Any person engaging in this fishery on any vessel which is not appropriately authorised will be in breach of the Sea-Fisheries and Maritime Jurisdiction (Bluefin Tuna) Regulations.

A full list of authorised skippers can be found below:


Vessel name

Current Port

Adrian Molloy
Killybegs, Co. Donegal
Brian McGilloway
Killybegs Co. Donegal
Donal McMenamin
Killybegs, Co. Donegal
Michael Callaghan
Killybegs, Teelin, Co. Donegal
Michael McGettigan
Killybegs, Co. Donegal
Patrick O’Doherty
Bundoran Pier Co. Donegal
Daryl Ewing
Rosses Point, Co. Sligo
Declan Kilgannon
Mullaghmore Co. Sligo
John Brittain
Cleggan, Co. Galway
John Fleming
Luke Aston
Carrigaholt, Co. Clare
Noel Kelleher
Kilrush, Co. Clare
Peter Power
Mullaghmore Co. Sligo
Thomas McCallion
Rosses Point, Co. Sligo
Carroll O’Donoghue
Kinsale, Co. Cork
David Edwards
Courtmacsherry, Co. Cork
Derek Schwartau
Ballycotton, Co. Cork
Séan Maxwell
Courtmacsherry, Co. Cork
Tony Santry
Marlogue, Cobh Island, Cork Harbor
Adrian Nowotynski
Union Hall Co. Cork
Kieran Collins
Baltimore, Co. Cork
Tom Collins
Reen, Union Hall, Co. Cork