Newport SAC hosted the clubs 34th annual National Junior Competition with all Junior anglers fishing for the prestigious Daniel Peacock Memorial Trophy on Sunday 30th June. The club’s very first competition dedicated to the Junior members began as far back as 1992 and has been held every year since!

On 30th of June, thirty seven young anglers headed out to sea, spread across 4 boats, all skippered by local boatmen and accompanied by club committee members as mentors. On offer were a range of prizes including overall winner, 8yrs to 13yrs category, 14yrs to 18yrs category, Novice section, largest fish and first fish category. Former club secretary Sue Steer, grandmother of the late Daniel Peacock, also sponsored a beanie hat embroidered with the club logo and badge for all participants in the competition.

Junior anglers James Heanue, Finn Grealis, Leah Moran, Aodhan O’Ruain, Sarah Cheatle, Sean Og O’Ruain, Alan Heanue and Kayden O’Rourke pictured receiving their beanie hats and club badges sponsored by Sue Steer.

When all results were in and tallied up, Laoise Fynes was announced as the 2024 National Junior Champion to rapturous applause! Laoise was presented with the Daniel Peacock Memorial trophy & replica, a rod and reel set and a voucher on behalf of the Peacock family by Sue Steer & Ann Taylor. Laoise had an impressive haul of 26 dogfish and 2 ray giving her a total of 170 points on the day. Congrats to Laoise from all at the club!

Laoise Fynes, overall winner of the 2024 National Junior Competition (Daniel Peacock Memorial) Sea Angling competition seen here being presented with her prize by Sue Steer & Ann Taylor. Laoise had 28 fish and 170 points on the day

Other category winners included Liam Moran who won the 8yrs to 13yrs category with 21 fish and 165 points. Shane Durkan won the 14yrs to 18yrs category with 20 fish and 130 points. James Hastings was the winner of the Novice section with 14 fish and 100 points. The prize for the largest fish was shared between Shane Durkan & Liam Moran with both anglers landing a 52cm ray. Boatmans prize went to Reg Roynane who skippered the Lady Helen.

A group of Junior anglers on board the Lady Helen, skippered by Reg Roynane with club mentor Declan Moran on board.

Every one of the juniors started and finished the day with a smile on their face. Every single junior angler caught fish on the day and no one went home empty handed. There was even a large number of raffle prizes for every junior angler followed by a parents raffle. The day was a great success and the committee would like to thank all of the anglers who took part, the skippers, the stewards, the parents (and particularly those who helped out on the day), those who headed out to sea and took photos during the competition, Nevins Bar for providing the venue and refreshments, Keane’s butchers (for providing the morning sausages), the Port Chipper and indeed anyone who helped to make the day so special and help to make happy memories for the 37 Junior anglers.

A group of Junior Anglers who participated in the recent 2024 National Junior Competition (Daniel Peacock Memorial) on Sunday 30th of June and hosted by Newport SAC.

The club would also like to thank each and every one of our sponsors including main sponsor Sue Steer & family, Councilor Brendan Mulroy, BIM, Inland Fisheries Ireland, MOWI Ireland, The Marine Institute Furnace, Westport Credit Union, Hastings Insurance, Westport Hotel Group, Midwest Furniture, Burrishoole GAA, Ann Taylor,

Padraic McCormack, Keane’s butchers, Nevins Bar, Port Chipper, Eamonn Kennedy, Mayo Movie World, O’Malley Transport, Doherty’s Mulranny, Without this financial support the event would not have taken place. A very successful day all round and we look forward to the next event!

A group of Junior anglers on board the Finnaun, skippered by Joe Gibbons with club mentors Sean Fahy and Paul Ruddy on board.

Please contact any member of the club if you wish to get involved in helping out at any of our events throughout the year!

We are now taking entries for our next competition scheduled for 3rd and 4th of August (58th Annual Sea Angling Festival). Contact any member of the committee for more details.

A group of Junior anglers on board Mo Chara, skippered by Darragh Magee with club mentors Shane Gilvarry and David Nevin on board.
A group of Junior anglers on board the Whitewater II, skippered by Tom Moran with club mentors Jason Moran and Michael O’Sullivan on board.

The results of the 2024 Daniel Peacock Memorial / National Junior Competition were as follows:

The overall winner was Laoise Fynes with a total of 28 fish and 170 points. Congrats to Laoise from all at the club!

Novice Category: 

  • 1st place – James Hastings (14 fish – 100 pts)       
  • 2nd place – Theo Bronkal (12 fish – 60 pts)  
  • 3rd place – Aoife Fynes (8 fish – 60 pts)
  • 4th place– Sean Óg Ó Ruain (8 fish – 60 pts)  
  • 5th place – Kayden O’Rourke  (7 fish – 55 pts) 
  • 6th place – Sarah Cheatle  (3 fish – 35 pts) 
  • Joint 7th place – Tyler Donnellan & Anthony McNeela (5 fish – 25 pts)     
  • 8th place – Coleman Moran (4 fish – 20 pts)
  • 9th place – Toby McNeela (2 fish – 10 pts)     
  • 10th place – Alfie Moogan (1 fish – 5 pts)
James Hastings was the winner of the Novice section with 14 fish & 100 pts.

8 years to 13 years category:  

  • Winner: Liam Moran (21 fish – 165 pts)   
  • Runner up: Leah Moran (12 fish – 80 pts)     
  • 3rd place: Jack O’Haire  (10 fish – 80 pts)
  • 4th place: Muirinn Mulchrone (7 fish – 75 pts)  
  • 5th place: John O’Sullivan Irwin (8 fish – 70 pts)  
  • 6th place: Molly Mulchrone (8 fish – 70 pts)       
Liam Moran was the winner of the 8 to 13 years category with 21 fish & 165 pts. Liam also received a prize for the largest fish (a Ray measuring 52cms)

14 years to 18 years category:

  • Winner:   Shane Durkan (20 fish – 130 pts)    
  • Runner up: Shauna Moran (20 fish – 120 pts)       
  • 3rd place: Sean Nevin (11 fish – 115 pts)
  • 4th place: Daithi Nevin (17 fish – 105 pts
Shane Durkan was the winner of the 14 to 18 years category with 20 fish & 130 pts. Shane also received a prize for the largest fish (a Ray measuring 52cms)

First Fish on Boat Winners:

The Finnaun – Coleman Moran

White Water II – Finn Grealis

Lady Helen – Laoise Fynes

Mo Chara – Cian Moran


Largest Ray: Liam Moran & Shane Durkan (52cms)

Boatmans Prize: For best angler average score was Reg Royanne who skippered the The Lady Helen.

Congrats to all winners and thanks to everyone who took part on the day! Full photo shoot of all of the day’s action in the gallery below…