Recruitment campaign launches for Fisheries Officers nationwide

Fisheries Officers Darren Halpin and Val Fitzpatrick on duty

Inland Fisheries Ireland has launched a recruitment campaign for seasonal fisheries officers nationwide. The seasonal positions offer an opportunity to protect and develop Ireland’s rivers, lakes and waterways during the summer months. There are up to 40 positions on offer across six River Basin Districts.

Sean Canney, TD, Minister with responsibility for Inland Fisheries said: “Fisheries Officers play a vital role in protecting, conserving, managing and developing Ireland’s precious natural fisheries resource. They help enforce Fisheries Legislation which protects against illegal fishing activity and support the development of the resource through the maintenance of angling infrastructure.  The recruitment of up to 40 seasonal officers will reinforce the critical work of Inland Fisheries Ireland during the high activity period of the year when there is increased demand for protection, conservation and support.”

Roisin Bradley, Head of HR at Inland Fisheries Ireland said: “We are delighted to launch this recruitment campaign for seasonal Fisheries Officers. These roles offer an excellent opportunity to spend your summer outdoors helping to protect and enhance Ireland’s rivers, lakes and coastline. Our Fisheries Officers are custodians of this precious natural fisheries resource. We are looking for people across the country who enjoy working outdoors, who are passionate about protecting our fisheries resource and who have excellent interpersonal skills.”

Fisheries Officers Dermot Long and Ronan Cusack carry out an inspection

The roles are available on a six month basis with contracts commencing from late April and training provided to all new recruits. The locations for the new positions will be based across the country in the following districts:

  • Eastern River Basin District (Five Vacancies) :Kilcoole, County Wicklow; Dundalk, County Louth; Drogheda, County Louth; CityWest, County Dublin.
  • South Eastern River Basin District (Seven Vacancies): Carrick on Suir, County Tipperary ; Enniscorthy, County Wexford ; New Ross, County Wexford .
  • South Western River Basin District (Five Vacancies): Farnanes, County Cork; Kenmare, County Kerry ; Killorglin, County Kerry; Bantry, County Cork.
  • Shannon River Basin District (Six Vacancies) : Listowel, County Kerry ; Limerick, County Limerick; Birr, County Offaly; Sheelin, County Westmeath.
  • Western River Basin District (Five Vacancies): Galway City and Ballinakill, County Galway, Ballina and Bangor Erris, County Mayo; Sligo.
  • North Western River Basin District (Six Vacancies): – Cavan Town and Letterkenny, Glenties, Ballyshannon, Gweedore, County Donegal.

The closing date for applications is 5pm on Friday, 8th of February 2019. To find out more about the roles and how to apply, visit .