For the first (but hopefully not the last) time this year we have had reports of four of our bluefin tuna fleet from the Cork coast catching, tagging and releasing bluefin tuna this week as part of the Tuna CHART Programme.

Mark Gannon from Courtmacsherry Angling, Tom Collins from Sea Angling Charters, Dave Edwards from West Cork Charters and Adrian Nowotynski from Irish Deep Sea Charters all managed to get a bluefin alongside the boat this week; it was the first fish for some of the skippers after a number of previous attempts so it is great to see the effort and expense of targeting these underwater leviathans start to pay off.

A Courtmac bluefin duel at dusk for Ronan

The video below shot by David Norman aboard the Silver Dawn shows how easily a tagged tuna swims away from the custom made lip and grip tailer they use when tagging the fish alongside the boat.

Please accept marketing, statistics cookies to watch this video.

In Donegal Bay the bluefin are still coming in thick and fast for skippers based on both sides of the shore. Ewings Sea Angling and Boat Charters and Kiwi Girl on the Sligo side have both been amongst the fish when the weather allowed while, from their Donegal bases, both and Wildatlanticwayangling have also had a busy week.

Another beautiful bluefin for the Kiwi crew

Adrian Molloy shows us again this week what a skipper’s eye view of a big bluefin busting out after one of Deep Blue’s muppets looks like in the clip below – smashing stuff.

Please accept marketing, statistics cookies to watch this video.

Authorised Vessels

Anglers wishing to engage in this fishery must only do so on a sea angling vessel specifically authorised to participate in the programme.  Any person engaging in this fishery on any vessel which is not appropriately authorised will be in breach of the Sea-Fisheries and Maritime Jurisdiction (Bluefin Tuna) Regulations.

A full list of authorised skippers can be found below:


Vessel name

Current Port

Adrian Molloy
Killybegs, Co. Donegal
Brian McGilloway
Killybegs Co. Donegal
Donal McMenamin
Killybegs, Co. Donegal
Michael Callaghan
Killybegs, Teelin, Co. Donegal
Michael McGettigan
Killybegs, Co. Donegal
Patrick O’Doherty
Bundoran Pier Co. Donegal
Daryl Ewing
Rosses Point, Co. Sligo
Declan Kilgannon
Mullaghmore Co. Sligo
John Brittain
Cleggan, Co. Galway
John Fleming
Luke Aston
Carrigaholt, Co. Clare
Noel Kelleher
Kilrush, Co. Clare
Peter Power
Mullaghmore Co. Sligo
Thomas McCallion
Rosses Point, Co. Sligo
Carroll O’Donoghue
Kinsale, Co. Cork
David Edwards
Courtmacsherry, Co. Cork
Derek Schwartau
Ballycotton, Co. Cork
Séan Maxwell
Courtmacsherry, Co. Cork
Tony Santry
Marlogue, Cobh Island, Cork Harbor
Adrian Nowotynski
Union Hall Co. Cork
Kieran Collins
Baltimore, Co. Cork
Tom Collins
Reen, Union Hall, Co. Cork