The town of Killeshandra in the heart of the Cavan lakelands once again hosted Ireland’s biggest and longest running one-day coarse angling event. The NCFFI’s All Ireland Senior Mens and Ladies Championship this year attracted 110 anglers from across Ireland and the UK to take part.

Local venues fished included Lough Oughter at Killykeen Forest Park and Sandy Point, Lower Derries, Rockfield, Glasshouse and Town Lake. The weather wasn’t kind and the fishing was expected to be tough but this didn’t deter too many.

NCFFI - All Ireland Championship 2015Defending champion, John Potters, drew the centre of Rockfield and not the hot section of Killykeen that most were looking to draw. Killykeen saw Team Ireland international, Nick Howell, win the title back in 2012 and drawing here was another previous winner Philip Jackson along with notable anglers such as Wayne Fuller and Andy Chapman. However, it was to be the venue to find the All Ireland Champion of 2015 and local angler Fergal Smith with his 11kg catch.

All Ireland Winners
All Ireland Winners

All eyes were on Cathal Hughes who has previously published his desire to win the title but it wasn’t to be. His catch from Town Lake was just 200g short of the championship. Visiting angler Brian Nesbitt from Eastbourne had a good start to his 10 day angling holiday with a 4th place at the Bob Parker Memorial match the day previous and now third place in the All Ireland. Lee Symonds, Baz Smith and Piotr Horbinski rounded off the top six on the match with a total payout of €2750, which included payouts for every five peg section.

Mary Tigwell Ladies Champion
Mary Tigwell Ladies Champion

This year saw 6 lady anglers take part with defending ladies champion Mary Tigwell and 2012 champion Emma McMahon fighting out with Kath Huthwaite, Sheila Bromley, junior Roisin Finchett and Baete Kiehek.

Fergal Smith All Ireland Champion 2015
Fergal Smith All Ireland Champion 2015

Keen junior international anglers James Gargan and James O’Doherty had a good day on Lower Derries and the youngest angler of the match Eoin Rogers fished Killykeen. We hope to see them back to compete in the Junior version of this event on Saturday 29th August.

Robert Buick, East Belfast CAC hands cheque to Jack Tisdall
Robert Buick, East Belfast CAC hands cheque to Jack Tisdall

The NCFFI would like to thank Inland Fisheries for their assistance with the pegging of the venues, carrying out bio-security measures and for stewarding the event. For Peter & Cathy of Irish Bait & Tackle Ltd in braving the weather to ensure the competing anglers had the convenience of on-site fresh bait and to Gilsenan’s Bar for their hospitality.

During the registration Jack Tisdall Junior Team Ireland Manager presented Philip Jackson, Lurgan Coarse Anglers with the new NCFFI Junior Club Champions cup for his team’s win on the Newry Canal back in May. He was also delighted to receive from Robert Buick, East Belfast Coarse Anglers a cheque for €420 raised by the club to support the U18 and U23 teams attendance at the World Youth Angling Championships in Serbia 8th & 9th August.

Top Six

1st Fergal Smith 11kg

2nd Cathal Hughes

3rd Brian Nesbit 9.740kg

4th Lee Symonds 9.320kg

5th Bas Smith 8.520kg

6th Piotr Horbinski 7.940kg


1st Mary Tigwell 6.300kg

2nd Emma McMahon 3.820kg

3rd Sheila Bromley 1.100kg

4th Kath Huthwaite .700g

5th Roisin Finchett .560g

6th Baete Kiehek 400g

Cathal Town Lake
Cathal Town Lake

Top weights by venue

Section A

Killykeen- grassy bank.

Fergal Smith 11kg

Jimmy Douglas 7.400

Tom Marshall 6.800

David Turton 5.240

Eamon Rodgers 5.000

Mike Stone 4.940

Section B

Killykeen- boathouse.

Bas Smith 8.520

Mary Tigwell 6.300

Brenton Sweeney 4.540

Darius Karaluinas 3.520

Neil O’Brien 3.080

Dave MCNeice 2.860

Section C


Wayne Fuller 6.120

Philip Jackson 5.400

Frank Holding 4.840

Gary Quayle 3.920

Trev Platt 3.160

Brian Bohan 2.600

Section D


Brian Nesbitt 9.740

Lee Symonds 9.320

Piotr Horbinski 7.940

Ewan Weed 7.00

Pete Reilly 5.300

John Heys 4.580

The Draw
The Draw

Section E


Liam O’Brien 7.920

James O’doherty 4.080

Steve Nurse 4.010

Julian Kendrick 2.980

Leigh Maitland 2.790

James Gargan 2.670

Section G

Town Lake.

Cathal Hughes 10.800

Leo Aungier 5.800

Report compliment of:

NCFFI National Coarse Fishing Federation of Ireland