Denis Goulding PRO of the ITFFA reports on the I.T.F.F.A. Interprovincial fished on Lough Lene, Collinstown…

Winning Connaught team
Winning Connaught team

On the morning of Saturday the 18th of August conditions were nice for fishing. It was overcast with a gentle ripple on the lake. Personally I was hoping for a bigger wave as it was easier to fool the snail feeders with stronger winds.

My Partner for the day was the Legend himself Stanley Mccart, looking for his 29th Cap. Tom Keogh was our boatman and a plan was formed as we headed up the lake past the pumphouse. To be honest I was slightly shocked to find no boats in front of us as we started our first drift. But as the day went on boats came in and left soon afterwards as the fishing was very tricky. We stayed there all day and although the fishing was tough in the calm conditions of the bay as we headed back down the lake for the weigh in at 6pm Stan and i had managed 7 fish a piece with 6 of those fish being in excess of 50cm. As it was a catch and release competition all fish were returned. It was a day I wont forget very soon as Stanley Mccart is great company in the boat and with Tom Keogh keeping us going and spotting fish all day. Turned out we had the best boat of the day.

President John Deacy presents the top rod trophy to Seamus O Loughlin
President John Deacy presents the top rod trophy to Seamus O Loughlin

The cards were handed to the Captains, James Fegan the leinster captain collected our cards and we ended up with 54 fish for the 18 person team. Connaught had 54 fish and it seemed it was between the two teams.

To be very honest the calculations were done very quickly by Brian Larkin and his computer program, Michael Callaghan and Michael Monaghan.Its the quickest weigh in ever. Thank you Brian.

As the scores were calculated for the teams and the individuals, news filtered through that Seamus O Loughlin from Munster fish for the Ennis club had caught 9 fish and Stuart Marry fishing for leinster and his Balbriggan Club had got 8 fish followed by a few 7’s.

John Deacy ITFFA President presenting Padraic Traynor Captain of the Connaught Team with the winning team trophy

It was very close in the team event with close to 200 fish being caught by the four teams of 18 anglers

Connaught had 54- 3391 points
Leinster had 54- 3387 points
Ulster had 42 – 2638 points
Munster had 26- 2261 points

The Interprovincial Challenge cup was won by Connaught beating Leinster by 9 points. Well done to Padraig Traynor and his team

Lennon Trophy – Seamus O Loughlin


Connaught: Deacy Cup- Seamus Kelly
Leinster :Moylet Cup – Stuart Marry
Munster: McCarthy Cup- Seamus O Loughlin
Ulster : Mc Crea Cup – Stanley Mccart

Stuart Marry
Stuart Marry
Stanley McCart winning a record 29th cap... amazing a record never to be broken
Stanley McCart winning a record 29th cap… amazing a record never to be broken
Seamus kelly
Seamus Kelly

Scotch Bowl- Darryl Grimason

1.Seamus OLoughin (ENNIS) was announced the winner
2.Stuart Marry (BALBRIGGAN)
3.Denis Goulding (KILBRIDE)
4.Stanley Mccart (AGIVEY)
5. Nigel Green (LSTPA)
6. Seamus Kelly (BALLINA/CLOGHANS)
8.Arden Pollock (AGIVEY)
9.Mike Keady (GALWAY/CORRIB)
10.John Mulvanny ( LOUGH BANE )

Eoin Dunne (DTAA)
Andrew Boyd ( BALLINDIFF )

Well done to all the qualifiers and competitors- The top 10 will represent Ireland in 2019

Top ten anglers to qualify for the 2019 Irish team
Top ten anglers to qualify for the 2019 Irish team

These competitions do not run by themselves and a lot of people give their time up competition after competition to ensure everything goes well.

On behalf of the ITFFA I would like to thank Tommy Fagan and Lough Lene Anglers for the use of the lake and for organising boats and boatmen etc. ITFFA are very grateful to Tommy and Lough Lene for their continuous support..
The ITFFA would also like to thank the Leinster Secretary Noel Shields and his committee for organising the event in Association with Michael Monaghan and of course many thanks to Stanley McKeon for keeping the books straight.

There is also another vital cog in the wheel , the boatmen. Without these folks giving up their time the competition would not go ahead. We are grateful to you all.

Many thanks must go to Castlepollard Hotel for a fine meal after the event.

As part of the Leinster team I would like to thank James Fegan and all his work he put in as captain, to Noel Shiels , to Michael Monaghan, Tommy Fagan and Lough Lene Anglers for running an event that never missed a beat well done.
Also to David Mc Bride and Southside Angling for Sponsoring the leinster Shirts, Well done to Seamus O Loughlin for his individual win and to the Connaught team on winning the team event